01 December 2015
download PDF version click here


Te Kāwai Taumata (the Māori Fisheries Electoral College) has appointed three new directors to the board of Te Ohu Kaimoana (the Māori Fisheries Trust).

The chairman of Te Kāwai Taumata, Mark Ngata, said today Ms Rangimarie Hunia (Ngāti Whātua), Mr Selwyn Parata (Ngāti Porou), and Mr Paki Rawiri (Waikato) will take up their appointments from today.

“The new appointments bring a mix of commercial and cultural knowledge, as well as unique experiences to the board, and they will augment the expertise and leadership of the incumbent directors,” Mr Ngata said.  “The times ahead are going to be very challenging for the board, who are the protectors of the Māori Fisheries Settlement. The leadership of the board, coupled with the experience and talent of the staff at Te Ohu Kaimoana, will ensure the Fisheries Settlement endures for generations to come.”

Ms Hunia has been an alternate director of Te Ohu Kaimoana since the beginning of 2015 and was appointed to the Iwi Working Group that was established in response to the 11-year Review of Māori Fisheries Settlement entities. She is a director on Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Trust, Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa Limited and a director of the Commercial Board of the Institute of Directors, among other directorships. Rangimarie is also a member of Global Women and was a finalist in the Westpac Women of Influence Awards 2014.

Mr Parata is the chairman of Te Rūnanganui o Ngāti Porou and has acted as chairman or director of a number of the iwi’s commercial investments. He was a member of Te Haeata, Ngāti Porou’s Treaty Negotiation Team until 2011. He is the chairman of Te Matatini Incorporated and acts as one of the judges for that organisation’s biennial National Festivals.

Mr Rawiri is a previous employee of Te Ohu Kai Moana Trustee Limited and has been involved in commercial fishing operations at an iwi level for many years. Paki completed his Masters in Applied Science (in living marine resources) at the Australian Maritime College with the assistance of a scholarship from Te Ohu Kai Moana. He is a member of Te Kauhanganui o Waikato-Tainui and was a director of Tainui Group Holdings until earlier this year. He is a director of Ngāti Tuwharetoa’s Asset Holding Company and fishing company. Paki worked at Te Ohu Kaimoana for seven years as the manager of asset allocation.

Current directors, Mr Jamie Tuuta, Ms Hinerangi Raumati and Mr Ken Mair have been reappointed to the board for a second, four-year term. Information about their experience and qualifications can be found on the Te Ohu Kaimoana website.

Te Kāwai Taumata thanks retiring directors Mr Matiu Rei, Mr Sonny Tau and Mr Rikirangi Gage for their significant contributions over the years and we hope they remain active within the Māori fisheries environment in the years to come.