Monday 16 March 2015
MEDIA RELEASE (click here to print PDF)


The directors of Te Ohu Kai Moana Trustee Limited (Māori Fisheries Trust) have appointed nine people to an Iwi Working Group to analyse recommendations within a recently-released review of the Māori Fisheries Structures, inform iwi of the recommendations and their consequences, and to seek iwi views on them.

The focus of the group is to ensure iwi are well informed about the review’s recommendations and the implications for the Māori Fisheries Settlement assets, says the Iwi Working Group Chairman, Jamie Tuuta.

Iwi will be asked to vote on the recommendations at a Special General Meeting to be held on 4 June.

The IWG is tasked with:

  • Analysing the recommendations and any other findings contained within the review and to assess its consequences for the beneficiaries, and
  • Informing iwi of the recommendations and findings, and their consequences, and to seek iwi views on them.

Mr Tuuta said it is crucial that iwi are fully informed about any changes proposed in the 2015 Review and the consequences of those changes.

The IWG met at Te Ohu Kaimoana’s offices in Wellington today to discuss its work plan and begin analysing the report.

Between eight and 10 hui nationwide will be held with iwi organisations to discuss the implications of the recommendations.  Times and places for each hui will be made available on Te Ohu Kaimoana’s website, and iwi will be contacted directly.

Mr Tuuta said the IWG is comprised of individuals who have particular skills and experience in the area of the Māori Fisheries Settlement, the allocation model enacted in 2004 and the structures established that have been the subject of the 2015 Review.

The Iwi Working Group is made up of:

  • Jamie Tuuta, (IWG Chair) Te Ohu Kaimoana director and the Māori Trustee,
  • Mark Ngata, served as Chair of Committee of Representatives,
  • Hinerangi Raumati, Te Ohu Kaimoana director,
  • Naida Glavish, former Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commissioner and Chair of Te Kawai Taumata,
  • Rob McLeod, Chairman, Ernst & Young; former Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commissioner, former Chairman of Aotearoa Fisheries Limited, former Chairman of Sealord Group Limited
  • Craig Ellison, former Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commissioner,
  • Tom McClurg, Consultant, director Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri Asset Holding Company; director Port Nicholson Fisheries.
  • Ngahiwi Tomoana, Chair, Ngati Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated; former Chairman of Te Ohu Kaimoana
  • Rangimarie Hunia, Ngati Whatua Orakei Whai Rawa Limited

The full terms of reference for the IWG can be found on Te Ohu Kaimoana’s website.
Read Te Ohu Kaimoana’s media release on the recommendations here and Review Questions & Answers. The full report can be downloaded here.

For more information and interviews, contact Te Ohu Kaimoana communications on 021 890 868 or email