The primary focus of Te Putea is on education, training and research including matters that relate to fisheries, fishing and fisheries-related activities.

The Trust must be made available as widely as possible and give regard to:

  • Māori who do not associate with their iwi or do not receive benefits from a mandated iwi organisation.
  • the extent to which mandated iwi organisations are providing similar benefits.

By 31 October 2009, Te Putea Whakatupu Trust will have received $20 million from Te Ohu. Until this amount is reached, Te Ohu will fund the activities of Te Putea Whakatupu Trust up to a maximum of $1 million annually.

The Trust is governed by three directors who are appointed by the board of Te Ohu Kaimoana. The current directors are Rangimarie Parata Takurua (Chairperson), John Tamihere and Teresa Tepania-Ashton.

For further information, go to: